US Flag History

US Flag history

US Flag evolution

Ever since it was created, the us flag has been modified a total of 26 times.

The original flag came from the 13 states of the Union; in 1912 it counted 48 stars each symbolizing a state. The latter was not modified for 47 years until the 49-star version was created on July 4th, 1959 to represent Alaska as the 49th member of the Union. After Hawaii had joined the United States, one more star was added to the flag, making it the version that Americans have now.

The Thirteen Colonies that were the first 13 states and thus inspired the flag include: Delaware, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, New Hampshire, Maryland, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Georgia, Virginia and Massachusetts.

Learn how to open DOCX file.

1 - 2 - 3